Crohn’s and the effects it has on your body

Hi my name is Yvonne and I’m 58 years old.  When I was 11 I became real sick and my parents took me to the hospital. I had never been sick prior to this.   So I’m in the E.R. going through  upper GI, lower GI and X-rays.  You name it they did it.  So after some tests came back that’s when the gastroenterologist came into my ER room and said we have to admit you to the hospital.  The doctors said from the tests that we have done we are almost certain that you have a severe  case of Ileitis.   So after that and a long hospital stay of 3 months on a lot of medication I went home.  I was fine for 5 years but then it came back even worse.  So at the age of 16 the doctors said you now have a severe case of Colitis.  I was admitted to the hospital again for another 3 months and then sent home on medications.  Then when  I was 20 years old and married the doctor said that it’s now a severe case of Crohn’s.  I have had a lot of surgeries and over the years I have been in an out of the hospital. Then when I was 40 years old my Ob-Gyn  did the 6 month pap smear and it came back positive for cancer.   So my doctor said I needed biopsies, so I went in and had them done.  Then a week later my Ob-Gyn called me and said that you have the beginning stages of cancer (0-1).  So he said I have to take these cancer pills and you’re going to need a hysterectomy.  So at 42  I had my surgeries. The Ob-Gyn did the hysterectomy and my temporary Ileostomy.  With those surgeries that my Ob-Gyn did he said I was cancer free.  I’m so thankful that God got me through it.   Then at 44 I had a permanent Ileostomy and they took out what was left of my colon which wasn’t much because  it disintegrated and turned to a liquid posion.  I’m thankful I’m still alive..

So having Crohn’s has given me more problems.  It has caused damage to my kidneys.  I’m at stage 5 of kidney disease.  Now I’m on dialysis 3 times a week.  I have been put on the transplant list at Northwestern Hospital in Chicago, IL.  Because of the Crohn’s and kidney failure I have a large dental bill also.  Lately it has  been neverending.

I’m embarrassed to even ask for donations because I have been able to a least get by with paying my medical bills.  Now I can’t.  So I hope you have it in your heart to donate what ever you can.  I would really appreciate it so much. I have a GoFundMe page set up here:

https://www.gofundme.com/medical-needs-for-yvonne-steffens

Thank you very much.    I’m so grateful.      P.S. Be safe and Be kind

Leave a comment